Featured post

2017/2018 Eastmoreland Neighborhood Association Officers Elected

The ENA board elected the following board members to be officers of the Association for 2017/2018:

Rod Merrick, President
Kristiana Nelson, Vice President
George Bengtson, Secretary
Heidi Levy, Treasurer

Board members for 2017/2018 also include:

George Beard
Lila Brightbill
David Dowell
Joe Dudman
Tom Hubka
Carol Klingensmith
Kurt Krause
Peter Lamb
Teresa Langdon
Amy Light
Loren Lutzenhiser
Meg Merrick
Tim Moore
Clark Nelson
Fred Nolke
Andy Payne
Alison Starkey

Featured post

ENA 2017/2018 Board Election Results Are In!

In a record-breaking turnout, nine new members have been elected to the ENA Board. They are:

George Beard (547 votes)
David Dowell (539 votes)
Kristiana Nelson (535 votes)
Kurt Krause (533 votes)
Peter Lamb (526 votes)
Lila Brightbill (519 votes)
Joe Dudman (515 votes)
Amy Light (508 votes)
Andy Payne (429 votes)

Click here for the complete results.

There will be a Special Meeting of the ENA Board to elect officers on June 1st, 7PM, Duniway School Library.

Featured post

ENA Board Votes to Proceed with the Historic District Nomination

On Thursday night, March 16th, the ENA board, with all 19 members in attendance, voted to proceed with the Historic District nomination for Eastmoreland. The vote breakdown was as follows:

Yes: 13
No: 3
Abstain: 3

The neighborhood poll on the Historic District was a non-binding advisory poll. It was not a vote. The content, structure, and language of the poll was hotly contested up until the day, and even after, it was sent to the printer. While there were board members who spoke on behalf of “the board” before the outcome was known, there were many members who never publicly stated how they would ultimately regard the results. The poll was only one of many factors that board members took into account.

The Spring edition of the ENA Newsletter will include a summary from each board member of the rationale for their decision. The newsletter should be mailed to every resident in mid-April.

Featured post

Response by Irvington Community Association to KEF Assertions

Keep Eastmoreland Free, an organization opposing the Eastmoreland historic district, distributed a flyer throughout the neighborhood, which made assertions involving the Irvington Historic District. The president of the Irvington Community Association responded to those assertions in a February 17, 2017  letter to Eastmoreland residents. It begins:

“It has come to our attention that a flyer has been sent out by the organization “Keep Eastmoreland Free” which purports to state certain facts involving the Irvington National Historic District. The flyer is insidious in that it mixes partially true statements with falsehoods and then mixes those with statements that are very misleading.”

The letter specifically addresses the statements in the flyer. Click here for the letter in its entirety.

Featured post

Residential Infill Project Implementation and Impacts

The City Council adopted the Residential Infill Project with amendments on Dec. 6, 2016; it is now in the implementation phase. The project will directly affect Eastmoreland (including permitting duplexes on every lot and triplexes on every corner lot). Click here for the City Council Final Residential Infill Project Concept Report, Jan. 2017.


Several participants in the Residential Infill Project Stakeholders’ Advisory Committee produced a report which examines the impacts on neighborhoods including Eastmoreland that was submitted to City Council. Click here for RIPSAC7 Residential Infill Project Critique.

Linda Bauer, Appointee – East Portland Action Plan
Sarah Cantine, Architect – Boise NA Land Use
Jim Gorter, Appointee – Southwest Neighborhoods, Inc.
Rod Merrick, Architect – Eastmoreland NA Land Use
Rick Michaelson, Appointee – Neighbors West/Northwest
Michael Molinaro, Architect, Appointee – Southeast Uplift
Barbara Strunk, Appointee – United Neighborhoods for Reform